Nap regression

January 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

It’s official: I’m Nadi sleep obsessed.  I read about it.  I write about it.  I talk about it.  I worry about it.  My Husband will tell you I’m a worrier regardless of whether there is actually something to worry about.  Now that breastfeeding isn’t a worry (and man was that a worry!), now I have to find something else to worry about.  I guess sleep is it b/c it stresses me out and here’s why.

My girl is wee.  As mentioned previously, she’s in the 5th percentile for weight.  I repeat: wee.  The Doctor also mentioned when we saw him 2 weeks ago that Nadi looked tired.  I replied, “Well, you’d be tired too if you were 4 1/2 months old and wouldn’t nap during the day unless every star in the universe aligned at the precise moment that you were neither too awake nor too sleepy to fall asleep.”  Or something like that.  In any case, you get my drift the wee kid does not nap.

There were a few posts earlier on where I gloated that I was updating my blog while by baby napped.  Those opportunities have come and gone as it seems we are experiencing a nap regression whereby what if any progress we were making on this issue seems to have been kicked to the curb and we’re sleepless in Victoria yet again.

I don’t need Nadi to nap for my sake.  I’ve had 5 months to adjust to not having any time to myself during the day.  I’m cool with it now.  She and I get on just fine and I’m genuinely happy to hang out with her all day.  I really feel like Nadi needs to nap to GROW.  I want her to GROW.  I’m tired of people looking at me like I’m not feeding my child.  Sometimes I just want to whip the boob out and latch her on as if to say “See?  See?  I FEED HER!!!!!!”  So I guess I do need her to nap for me, lol.

Anyhoo, for the most part she sleeps great at night for which I am mega grateful (so please God or universe or whomever or whatever is in charge of all things, please don’t take this away from me. I REALLY am grateful. REALLY I am.  GRATEFUL.)  My neighbour popped by the other day and told me that her first son napped but didn’t sleep in the night.  Her second, slept in the night but didn’t nap.  She told me you can’t have it all.  Well, obviously I can’t but I’m pretty sure I’ve read some Mommy Blogs whereby they were having it all and quite enjoying it.  Good for them.  I’m happy for you.  I REALLY am.  HAPPY.

So here’s my new nap induction plan.  Nadi will fall asleep under these conditions: you put her in a carrier (either wrap or Baby Bjorn will do) and you walk for about 30 minutes.  So b/c the Hus works at home, he takes her for an AM walk/nap around 10 and then I take her for her afternoon walk/nap around 2.  This way, (a) she gets some much needed day sleep, (b) we get exercise and fresh air, (c) the Hus gets some bonding time with our girl and I get some ‘me’ time, (d) Nadi can get used to napping at the same two times a day so maybe eventually we can get her to nap in the house at some point down the road (only so that when the weather is atrocious we can still get her to sleep).  Sound like a plan?  I know you experienced mothers have something to say on this.  Please say it.  I need all the help I can get.

I have a new Macbook.  It’s cool.  Here’s a neat pic of Nadi and I that my computer (whose name is Shirley btw) took.

Peace out Mommas and bellies and babies.

 

 

§ One Response to Nap regression

  • Amber says:

    Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such nice comments! Sorry it has taken me so long to visit you (I’ve been under the weather). Oh, I SOOO relate to this post. Nate has been an awful sleeper since about Nadi’s age. Naps and night have been extremely challenging. I spent hours and hours each day bjorning him, strolling him, driving him around so he would fall asleep. So stressful. I was obsessed too. It’s hard not to be. And I was resigned to no time to myself too – but eventually it beat me down. Ugh. The only advice I can give you is to read a couple of books (i like the No Cry Nap Solution) for some good tips. Sometimes it’s all about scheduling. Sometimes there is just nothing you can do and they have to grow out of it. Just try to develop good habits while she’s still so young. That way, even if she continues to have trouble down the road, you know YOU’VE done everything you could! Good luck!! I think with some patience and time it is bound to get better! Oh, and my best friend’s son (15 months) has been in the bottom 5th percentile his whole life. He’s and awesome, thriving kid – walking and talking, so much fun. And hey – you get to use all of your baby stuff for longer if she doesn’t grow out of everything so quickly 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nap regression at Talking Out My Belly.

meta

